Linen in winter

When I worked in the yarn shop and then again in the candy shop, I wore kerchiefs or headbands to keep my hair out of my eyes. (A longtime habit for one of my grandmas was pushing my overgrown bangs off my face. Tsk-tsk, teenagers.) I still eschew hairspray and other freeze-frying hair products, so mechanical measures over chemical are preferred to keep my vision unimpaired.

Lichen Kerchief

I don’t work retail just now, but I’ve wanted to make this kerchief since the yarn shop days. When my local knitters’ guild advised that a lace swatch would be needed for the upcoming meeting in January, because there would be a mini-workshop on how to weave ends into lacework, I decided to make this kerchief instead. Might as well be able to wear something after the work is done, you know?

Lichen Kerchief

The Lichen Kerchief, a free pattern by Mary Keenan, begins with the front of the triangle and the bands that tie around the head as one long piece. Once the stitches for the bands are bound off, the real fun of lace and crossing stitches begins.

Lichen kerchief blocking

When making cables that are four stitches abreast or fewer, I tend not to use a cable needle. This pattern’s instructions do the same for the two-stitch twists.  In this way, these elongated stitches can be made quickly as they travel diagonally over the body of the work.

Lichen Kerchief

I had one hank of Marks & Kattens M&K Linen in the Purple colorway, which reads mauve, and I used less than half of it. I felt strange knitting with linen on a cold January night, seeing as how I dive into my animal fibers during the winter, usually, but I wanted to use a slicker yarn for the mini-workshop and for when the hotter months would eventually bear down on me. Blazing Kansas summers are really when I want my hair away from my face, whether or not I’m working with the public.

I finished the kerchief in one night, staying up late to block it because the guild meeting was the next day. Nothing like the pressure of last minute, eh?

Lichen Kerchief

As for the mini-workshop, I learned a few new tricks for making the yarn ends “travel” around the lacework so they can be woven more thoroughly into a field of stockinette. For an online tutorial about this, I recommend the pictorial one on Fibre Space.

And now for this week’s Stash Marathon Tally. Not too impressive, I know.

170213-marathon-tallies

Leave a Reply

